Coffee for the masses.

Gee, he was just here a minute ago…

Whenever asked who my favorite comedian was, slots 2-5 would change intermittently depending on my mood at the time (Paul Mooney, Chris Rock, Bill Maher, George Lopez, etc.) but the 1 spot had always belonged to my nigga George Carlin. Like most people my age, I discovered him late in his career – when he bust out with some of his best work. I remember the George Carlin show back in the 90’s being the first time I watched him on TV. I must have been 10. I missed the first appearance of the 7 Words You Can Never Say on TV (Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, Tits) but thanks to HBO, I got up to speed and now use them on a regular basis. He created that routine, among many, many others, to poke fun at America’s prudishness and tackle the scourge of political correctness. He inspired me to see past all our little euphemisms and to avoid bullshitting others, to tell it like it is. He taught us the importance of words; he could disect the little things we say and do that we take for granted, and point out just how ridiculous – or amazing – they really are. He was known for being a crotchedy old nihilistic misanthrope at times, but it was all love. In reality, he despised humanity’s “bullshit”, which included murder, genocide, war, rape, corruption, religion and other aspects of human civilization. George Carlin’s battle against our own bullshit is a mission he fought with humor; now he’s left it up to the rest of us to accomplish that mission

Good bye George. You’ll be sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

